University of Mississippi Joins NIPTE as its 18th Member Institution

MINNEAPOLIS – The National Institute for Pharmaceutical Technology and Education (NIPTE) is pleased to welcome the University of Mississippi as its 18th member institution. David D. Allen, R.Ph., Ph.D., Dean, School of Pharmacy, will serve on the NIPTE Board of Directors.

Mississippi brings top research and graduate education programs in pharmaceutics and drug delivery, and four centers under the Research Institute of Pharmaceutical Sciences: the National Center for Natural Products Research (an FDA Center of Excellence for Botanical Research), the Pii Center for Pharmaceutical Technology, the Center for Pharmaceutical Marketing and Management, and the Center for Clinical and Translational Science.

“The University of Mississippi’s capabilities and expertise complement those of NIPTE and closely align with the NIPTE mission”, said Dr. Vadim J. Gurvich, Executive Director of NIPTE and Research Associate Professor at the University of Minnesota, “That makes them a great addition to our collaboration.”

Membership in NIPTE complements several pharmaceutical development initiatives within the University of Mississippi, and especially its School of Pharmacy, including the Hands-On Course in Tablet Technology, the Natural Products Training Laboratory and the new industrial pharmacy master’s degree track. Scientists in the National Center for Natural Products Research, housed within the School of Pharmacy, will also be able to offer their specialized expertise in natural products pharmaceutical development.

“The School of Pharmacy is thrilled to represent the University of Mississippi in NIPTE by offering its broad pharmaceutical research expertise to help solve challenges within the pharmaceutical industry,” Allen said.

NIPTE is a 501(c)(3) non-profit academic organization with the mission to improve the way medicines are designed, developed and manufactured to meet the needs of patients in the 21st century. Our 18 members come from top schools of pharmacy, chemical and pharmaceutical engineering, and medicine: Duquesne University, Illinois Institute of Technology, Long Island University, Purdue University, Rutgers University, Texas A&M University, University of Connecticut, University of Iowa, University of Kansas, University of Kentucky, University of Maryland, University of Michigan, University of Minnesota, University of Mississippi, University of Puerto Rico, University of Rochester Medical Center, University of Texas, and University of Wisconsin.